Land registry records show 1742 as the year in which the first stone of the hamlet was laid.

As was usual in the Tuscan countryside, at first a small building was constructed, large enough for the original family, and only in subsequent years were the extensions and changes made to accommodate the larger family with children, grandchildren and great grandchildren who all tended to live together in the same place.

It was only at the end of 1800 that the hamlet, now known as "Casa Contini", assumed, at least from the outside, something of the permanent appearance we can admire today.
The original family was certainly very wealthy, this can also be noted from the hamlet's structure featuring large rooms and a construction of all stone (presumably being sourced from the province of Siena) and not tuff like almost all buildings in the Maremma area.

At start of the 1920s, the original family left the area and the hamlet became home to five different families, all crop and sheep farmers.
News of the Italian economic boom also reached the depressed area of Maremma and at the start of the 70s many young people left for the city to seek their fortune and a different life.
The hamlet's population therefore began to decline and it was right at the start of the 80s that the current owner, captivated by the area's natural beauty, climate, history and inhabitants, bought an initial small part of the hamlet, gradually becoming its sole owner over the course of almost thirty years.

The hamlet, like the barn opposite, has undergone extensive renovation and modernisation to suit the requirements of the most discerning guests.